B.C.A. (Bachelor Of Computer Applications)


Gujarat University’s Bachelor of Computer Applications programme is a three-year full-time undergraduate programme leading to the degree of Bachelor of Computer Applications (BCA). The programme will be offered by President Institute Of Computer Application (PICA).

Program Outcomes

This course acts as a stepping stone for students who want to pursue computing / information technology as a career. Here, students will learn all the fundamental subjects related to computer science, programming languages, web designing, system analysis, etc. After completing the BCA course, students have the option of starting their professional journey or pursuing master’s degree courses in the field of computer science like, MCA, M.Sc (IT) and many more.

Technical Subjects offered

The subjects like Android, PHP, Asp.net, Multimedia tools, Java – Advanced Java, Digital Marketing, Cyber Law, Information Security are taught as a part of the curriculum which provides students the technical strength to compete in the professional world.

Career Opportunities
  • Chief Information Officer
  • Computer Programmer
  • Computer Scientist
  • Computer Support Service Specialist
  • Computer Systems Analyst
  • Database Administrator
  • Information Systems Manager
  • Software Developer
  • Mobile Application Developer
  • Systems Administrator-IT
  • Software Testing Engineer
  • Website Designer
  • Teacher & Professor
  • Start-up – Your own business


Gujarat University
  • As per the university’s pattern, the BCA course is divided in to 3 years (6 semesters).
  • In each semester students are offered various subjects.

Subjects are Classified as

  • Core / Compulsory subjects
  • Elective subjects
  • Foundation subjects

The semester wise detail syllabus is available on Gujarat University website.

  • The performance of a student in each course is evaluated in terms of percentage of marks with provision of conversion to grade points.
  • Continuous internal assessment (CIA) and University / External examination shall be taken into consideration for the grading.
  • Attendance shall be taken as a component for continuous assessment.
  • In addition to continuous evaluation component, the end semester examination, which will be a written type examination would also form an integral component of the evaluation.


Passing Minimum
  • The passing minimum for continuous internal assessment (CIA) shall be 36% out of 30 marks (i.e. 11 marks), where the candidate is required to appear for the internal test at least once.
  • The passing minimum for university OR external examination shall be 36% out of 70 marks (i.e. 25 marks).


  • Once the marks of the CIA and end semester examinations for each of the courses are available, they will be added
  • SGPA = Semester Grade Point Average
  • CGPA = Cumulative Grade Point Average
  • The SGPA and CGPA shall be calculated only when the student has successfully cleared all the courses with assumption that the total credits in each semester are the same


  • Students can get the scholarship from DigitalGujarat and National Scholarship scheme portal as per the government’s rule.
  • Government is also offering MYSY scholarship to students. We also encourage deserving students to get benefit of this scholarship scheme.
  • For detailed information, visit www.digitalgujarat.gov.in & www.scholarships.gov.in